Wishes

I wish that I could go back in time and unmeet you.

I wish that I could just walk the other way.

Wish that I could pull that “hello” right back into my mouth

             And swallow it down, down into the deepness of my soul where you could never hear it.

I wish that I could take back my heart

            Take it back and bury it deep in some secret forest where you could not find it.

I wish that I had never given you my body

             Never let you worship in my temple or write you name in my prayer book (God).

I wish that I never believed your siren song

             Never let it lure me into my most beautiful destruction.

I wish….I wish that you were here.

Wish that you would wrap me in your arms and

               rock me into the most peaceful of sleeps, because sleeping is impossible now.

I wish that you would listen to me.

                 That you would hear me.

I wish that you would come home.

I wish that I could go back in time and unmeet you.

                But what’s an addict without their drug?

Leave a Reply

