Science of the Heart

I want to cut you open and peer inside

Carve out a little niche behind your ribs so that I may live within you

I want to see your heart beat

Faster when you’re running and slower when you’re asleep

I want to hold it in my hand, to own it like you do mine.

 

If the Creator would allow it, I’d become part of your DNA

Riding along in every cell, dividing

Meiosis. Mitosis.

Two then four then infinite copies of me

Inside you.

I would become one with you until there was only Us. No possible separation.

 

Where do you go when you fall asleep?

When your eyes close like shutters and you turn away from me in the night?

Let me traverse the blood-brain barrier

I’ll become neurotransmitters and leap from neuron to neuron as I map who you are on the most primal of level.

 

I want to cut you open and peer inside

And see how you could possibly house two hearts, yours and mine.

 

532338938

Leave a Reply

